Houston, TX - The Diana Foundation, a renowned organization dedicated to supporting LGBTQ+ causes and fostering inclusivity, recently completed its annual nomination and election process to select officers and board members for the upcoming year. Demonstrating their commitment to democratic engagement and community service, the foundation embraced a transparent and inclusive approach throughout the entire process.

On April 20, 2023, The Diana Foundation initiated the nomination process through eBallot, opening the doors for members to propose candidates for five officer positions and two member-at-large seats. This inclusive approach ensures that the board of directors, consisting of five officers and four members-at-large, represents diverse perspectives and expertise necessary to effectively govern the foundation.
Under the guidance of Election Chair John Heinzerling, the nomination period concluded on April 27, 2023, marking the beginning of an exciting period of anticipation and campaign activities. Candidates who received nominations were given until May 17, 2023, to present their visions and plans to the members of The Diana Foundation, actively engaging the community and showcasing their qualifications.
The election itself took place on May 17, 2023, employing the convenient and secure eBallot system, which allowed all members to cast their votes easily and efficiently. With a commitment to fairness and transparency, the election process closed on May 18, 2023, at 9:00 p.m., marking the completion of a successful election season.
In an unprecedented turn of events, the office of President and Vice-President resulted in a tie, making history within The Diana Foundation. Consequently, a runoff election will be held to determine the final outcome. Campaigning for the candidates participating in the runoff election will commence on May 22, 2023, and conclude on June 7, 2023. The voting period for the runoff election is scheduled for June 7, 2023, with the ballot closing on June 8, 2023, at 9:00 p.m. The results will be announced on June 9, 2023, by 6:00 p.m., bringing an end to the suspense and revealing the foundation's leadership for the upcoming term.
Amidst great enthusiasm, Election Chair John Heinzerling announced the fully constituted Board of Directors for the 2023-2024 term. The newly elected officers and board members are as follows:
  1. President: Howard M. Huffstutler, III (in a tie-breaking decision)
  2. First Vice President: Michael Leibbert (in a tie-breaking decision)
  3. Second Vice President: Matthew Arp
  4. Treasurer: KM Cooper
  5. Secretary: Gregory Brown
Board Members-at-Large:
  1. Member-at-Large (two-year term): Ashton Chandra
  2. Member-at-Large (two-year term): Steven Bretthauer
These passionate individuals have graciously accepted their respective roles, eager to contribute their expertise and support The Diana Foundation's mission. The officers will serve a one-year term, ensuring continuity of leadership, while the member-at-large positions will provide stability and the infusion of fresh perspectives.
The Diana Foundation, renowned for its unwavering dedication to LGBTQ+ causes, inclusivity, and equality, eagerly anticipates the valuable contributions of the newly elected officers and board members. As they embark on their journey, the foundation envisions a year filled with productivity, impact, and tireless efforts to uplift the community and promote positive change.
About The Diana Foundation: Founded in 1953, The Diana Foundation is a prominent Houston-based organization that has dedicated itself to supporting LGBTQ+ causes and fostering a sense of community and belonging. Over the years, The Diana Foundation has championed numerous initiatives, offering support, mentorship, and resources to individuals in need. Through their events and charitable efforts, the foundation strives to promote equality, understanding, and a brighter future for all.
Contact: For more information about The Diana Foundation and its initiatives, please contact: Howard Huffstutler at 832-794-3244